Customer Login



Recover Password

WorkOrder TS Support Database

 

Bookmark: Root \ WorkOrder TS Guides \ How to move WorkOrder TS to a new server

How to move WorkOrder TS to a new server


Last Updated: 2007-11-28

This guide will explain the required steps to move WorkOrder TS from one server to another without loosing any data.



  1. Backup your WorkOrderTS Database:
    You can find a complete backup guide here, the basic steps are:

    1. Download your database dump via the control panel (auto drop only works with MySQL 5)
    2. Verify that the last line of the file you downloaded is -- Dump completed on CURRENT DATE where CURRENT DATE is the date of the backup. Your backup should not contain all information if this final line is missing. Screen shot here



  2. Backup your WorkOrderTS upload directory
    The workorder upload directory located in your web directory contains all uploaded files. Copy the entire directory or compress it.

Transfer the files to your new server and install the same version of WorkOrder TS you where running before as described in the WorkOrderTS installation guide. I suggest that you use the same database name and table prefix as before!
At this point you should have a running WorkOrderTS installation and you can login to the new installation with your admin account.


  1. Import WorkOrderTS if the database name and table prefix are the same

    1. Copy your uploads directory back into your WorkOrder TS directory, overwrite all existing files.
    2. Login as admin. go to the "Control Panel" and restore your database by selecting the database dump file you created above.
    3. Close you web browser and try to login, WorkOrder TS should now contain all your information, you are done.


  2. Import WorkOrderTS if the database or table prefix is NOT the same

    1. Copy your uploads directory back into your WorkOrder TS directory, overwrite all existing files.
    2. Edit the database dump you create above with a text editor.
      1. Find the line
        -- Database: `YourDatabaseName` and change it to the new database name.
      2. Now use the replace function of your text editor (should be in the "Edit" menu) to replace your table prefixes. Around line 19, you should find a line similar to the this line -- Table structure for table `OnlineDem_config` in this example, OnlineDem_ is the table prefix and must be replaced with the correct table prefix you specified during the installation (installation default is workorder_ ). Support is here for you if you are not sure what to do here.
    3. Now that you have the correct information in your backup file, Login as admin. go to the "Control Panel" and restore your database by selecting the database dump file fixed in the last step.
    4. Close you web browser and try to login, WorkOrder TS should now contain all your information, you are done.


  3. What if this does not work - OR Advanced Steps?

    1. The steps above need mysql in your path, this means you should be able to open a shell window and execute mysql if this does not work then mysql is not in your path. You can run the backup and restore command manually like this:
      Find the mysql binary file, open a shell window, navigate to the mysql binary file and execute the command below. Replace AdminUser with the username of a mysql administrator such as root, replace Password with the password (NO SPACE between the -p and the password), replace DatabaseName with the name of the WorkOrderTS database and, finally, replace DumpFile with the backup filename

      1. Backup MySQL 4
        mysqldump --opt -u AdminUser -pPassword DatabaseName > DumpFile

      2. Backup MySQL5
        mysqldump --add-drop-database --opt -u AdminUser -pPassword DatabaseName > DumpFile

      3. Restore
        mysql -u AdminUser -pPassword -D DatabaseName < DumpFile





  4. Questions

    1. Why is it necessary to reinstall WorkOrderTS?
      Reinstalling WorkOrder TS creates the necessary mysql user accounts with the appropriate rights.

    2. Unable to install new WorkOrder TS, keeps trying to upgrade.
      When you first open setup.php it checks if your config files exist, if they do you can only upgrade or uninstall WorkOrderTS. Please delete the files config-guest.inc.php and config-user.inc.php located in the include directory, then reload setup.php



 

No Comments yet .....

 

Add Your Comment:

Note: All posts require administrator approval. Please allow 24 hours for message approval.

Name:
E-Mail:
Title
Plain text only, less then 65 000 characters.

Please write ASDFG into the box below.

Please answer the question above and type the answer into the text box below.